“The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it.” DORIAN GRAY

Sorry Dorian, but I beg to differ. As much as I enjoyed your character when it was portrayed by Ben Barnes, I also hated your narcissistic tendencies – Ben Barnes or not. I suppose that’s where the moral of the story lies. Temptations and obsessions such as beauty, money and sex can and will eventually destroy you, managed the wrong way of course. And of course, Dorian, you managed them all the wrong way! And don’t give me an excuse about psychotherapists, yogis and financial advisors not being around in your time, because that would just be pathetic. You single-handedly destroyed yourself and the lives of people around you because you worshipped the idea of “eternal youth and having it all”. Sounds like Hollywood celebrity culture? You bet. It’s all around us and you can get hooked quite easily if you’re not wary. So you say, Dorian, that the easiest way to get rid of temptation is to “simply” yield to it. But what’s wrong with just turning around and walking away from it? It can be done because the majority of humans are not confined to wheelchairs and are not brain-dead. So I believe that the only way to get rid of temptation is to “simply” avoid it. Even “trying” to avoid it is better than doing nothing at all about it. I think that’s where the real reward awaits. I would rather have strength in character than strength in harems, dollars and dodginess any day 😉

Ps: In case you’re wondering why I am having a conversation with the fictional Dorian Gray, I thought I’d use him to represent a lot of people in this throwaway society who are obsessed with image, money, sex, drugs and after all that- think they are heroes. Dorian’s a perfect fit. If you’ve never heard of Dorian Gray, I suggest you pick up “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde, get reading and get thinking…

Leave a Reply

